PIB Analysis : 12th and 13th January

PIB Analysis for UPSC CSE

Topics Covered

  1. Guru Gobind Singh
  2. Hunaar Haat
  3. Kumbh Mela

1 . Guru Gobind Singh

PM releases Commemorative Coin of Rs. 350 to mark birth anniversary of Guru Gobind Singh jee 
Says, Guru Gobind Singh’s teachings show the path of humanity

About Guru Gobind Singh

  • He was born in Patna on December 22, 1666, and was the only son of the ninth guru, Guru Teg Bahadur and Mata Gujri.
  • He became the tenth Sikh guru at the age of nine.
  • His birth anniversary is marked as Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti and is celebrated by offering prayers and organising huge processions. On Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti, devotional songs are sung and Sikh martial art is demonstrated in the processions.
  • Among his notable contributions to Sikhism are founding the Sikh warrior community called Khalsa in 1699 and introducing the Five Ks, the five articles of faith that Khalsa Sikhs wear at all times.


  • On March 30 in 1699, Guru Gobind Singh gathered his followers to his home in Anadpur. He asked for a volunteer to sacrifice his head for his brothers.
  • Daya Ram offered his head and the Guru took him inside a tent and later emerged with a bloody sword.
  • He again asked for a volunteer and repeated the feat. This went on for three more times.
  • At last, Guru emerged from the tent with the five volunteers and five headless goats were found in the tent.
  • These five Sikh volunteers were named as Panj Pyaare or ‘five beloved ones’ by the Guru.
  • The five volunteers were Daya Ram, also known as Bhai Daya Singh; Dharam Das, also known as Bhai Dharam Singh; Himmat Rai, also known as Bhai Himmat Singh; Mohkam Chand, also known as Bhai Mohkam Singh; and Sahib Chand, also known as Bhai Sahib Singh. They were the first Sikhs.
  • At the gathering of 1699, Guru Gobind SIngh founded the Khalsa Vani – “Waheguru ji ka Khalsa, Waheguru ji ki fateh”. He named all his followers with the title Singh, meaning lion. He also founded the principles of Khalsa or the Five ‘K’s.
  • The five ‘K’s are the five principles of life that are to be followed by a Khalsa.
  1. These include Kesh or hair, which means to leave the hair uncut to show acceptance to the form God intended humans to be;
  2. Kangha or wooden comb, as a symbol of cleanliness;
  3. Kara or iron bracelet, as a mark to remind a Khalsa of self-restraint;
  4. Kacchera or knee-length shorts, to be worn by a Khalsa for being always ready to go into battle on horseback; a
  5. Kirpan, a sword to defend oneself and the poor, the weak and the oppressed from all religions, castes and creeds

2 . Hunaar Haat

Hunar Haat is to ensure ‘Development with Dignity’ to Artisans and Craftsmen of the Country

About Hunaar Haat

  • Hunar Haat is organised by the Minority Affairs Ministry to provide an opportunity, as well as domestic and international exposure to the master artisans from across the country.

3 . Kumbh Mela

Leave a comment

error: Content is protected !! Copying and sharing on Social media / websites will invite legal action